The “Carnivorous” blanket

Follow on Bloglovin

Ok, Ok, the name I gave to this blanket is a bit odd, but it came to my mind while reading “Life of Pi” a couple of weeks ago. I’m not going to go further into details in case someone hasn’t read the book or watched the film, but yes, this blanket has a literary background, lol

Anyway, I have recently found myself almost sinking in stash yarn, or to better say, in yarn leftovers. I have been crocheting many blankets in the past years, and I rarely get to use up ALL the yarn I buy, so it started piling up at some point. Therefore I decided to make a blanket, or a lapghan, or a bed throw… I am not sure about the categorization cause I haven’t actually set on a finished size, I’ll just go on until I have yarn left. AND, most importantly, I have decided I am not going to buy any new yarn for it, so if I ever run out of it, I’m simply going to wait until get some more leftovers, with the only exception of black, since it’s the joining colour.
But why “carnivorous”? Well, do you know of all those half finished projects, those tests, those swatches which seem to lay aroudn forever and never get looked at agin? Well, I’ve been patiently frogging them all and using them up again 🙂 So basically I am crocheting a blanket and feeding it with other projects! lol

But now, on to more interesting details!

pattern is…

flower in a square

by Sucrette

it’s super easy and doesn’t require too much counting, so you can just go on with your crocheting while watching TV. (always a plus, if you ask me).
As I said I didn’t make up a scheme, but I counted that to get a decent size blanket I’ll need to make AT LEAST 300 squares… lol
here are some pics for you to enjoy. How to you like it? I have joined about 120 squares so far 🙂

I guess my inspiration might be back ;)

The "carnivorous" blanket
Here my cat was testing it and I think it passed 🙂

The carnivorous blanket
Square #100!

The "carnivorous" blanket

The "carnivorous" blanket

I’m joining as I go… best invention ever, esp when you have 300+ squares ahead of you!
So this blanket is basically the reason why I am doing 52 squares for the crochetmoodblanket2014. I figured I would end up leaving one behind, and so far so good!

If you’re on Ravelry, you can see my project page HERE.

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

