baby blanket “try again”

A friend of mine asked me to make him a baby blanket, since one of his best friends is having a baby soon.

I had a lot of grey wool, so i decided to go for an easy patter with a nice texture. I usually make very colourful blankets cause i am a colour freak and I secretly wish i could keep them all for myself (lol), so this time I though I’d go out of my comfort zone and try something classy πŸ™‚

300513_10151451364211662_1694412608_n

First of all, I decided it would be a knit blanket, to do something different from the usual πŸ™‚ I started knitting on one of the fist warm and sunny days in may and I chose the seed stitch, which gave a nicely textured yet “squishy” effect.

I had to put the project by side for a couple of weeks though, cause I was busy studying for my PhD defensio. The nigh before the big day I started working on it again so I could relax a bit… I ended up knitting some 25 cm of it in total… It was looking so nice!

970592_10151469997891662_299053079_n

BUT the day after I woke up to a not-so-nice surprise… Sissi, my devilish kitty and actually the *real* craftykitty, had managed to open the sealed bag I had stored my project in and had been playing with it the whole night, creating a series of holes, loopy strands and overall making a mess out of it.

I know all pets’ parents believe that their animals are special, but believe me… mine is VERY special. She is a real wool lover, to the extent that I have to buy skeins specifically for her, so that she can play with them without ruining mines. Anyhow, she won’t accept them if I just give them to her… she doesn’t want HER skeins, she wants MINES! So i need to set up all kind of possible situations where she can steal the skein from me, though it’s actually meant for her. I would usually knit or crochet a couple of rows and leave the skein freely moving on the floor so that it catches her attention. Moreover, she only likes 100% wool yarn… blends or acryclic are no option for her, she wants the expensive stuff!

Say “Hi” to my small moster! πŸ™‚ look at those eyes… clearly craving for mum’s wool! lol

400763_10151932118826164_2131952328_n

Anyway, It took me a week to overcome the trauma and finally frog that poor thing which once was going to be a blanket, cut ruined yarn strands and try to save as much of it as possible…

I have now started crocheting a new blanket. I was looking for a pattern I hadn’t tried yet and I came across this one, which looks pretty neat and is definitely an easy one:

Baby Blanket

And here is my version… I’m loving the texture and using a hook size 6 (J) Β it’s also working up pretty fast!

I wanted to crochet the edging in a different colour though, as in the original pattern, but I can’t decide which colour! What do you suggest? it’s going to be for a baby boy πŸ™‚

936402_10151490007921662_1308492689_n

5 thoughts on “baby blanket “try again”

  1. Much sympathy here. I have a labrador who chewed holes in my precious hand knitted silk and alpaca throw…little devils. The new pattern is lovely – maybe a red border?

  2. Awww, thank you!
    I was also thinking of something in that direction for the edging (blue or celeste), I’ll have to see if I find a nice shade in the same yarn weight πŸ™‚

  3. oh oh, poor you, that sounds just as terrible! the worst thing is that no matter how mad I get at her, I can’t do anything against that innocent look in her eyes, she’s forgiven in seconds! lol

  4. Pingback: Finished baby blanket | Craftykitty's Blog

Leave a Reply

