Ishbel – WIP

Hi everyone!

I know I haven’t updated in a couple of weeks now, but I had a pretty stressful period at work, I basically worked for some 10 days in a row, which left me little time for hobbies and blogging 😦 Anyway, I am on holiday this week and I’m enjoying some relaxing time at home with my parents and knitting a lot (though I should be studying, but I can’t be bothered) o_o

My mum wanted to knit something for my mother in law for (last) Christmas, so when i visited last time in Nov we went to a wool store and bought 3 skeins of a cool emerald Malabrigo silky merino with the idea of knitting a shawl for her.

We browsed Ravelry for the ideal pattern and we ended up picking “Ishbel”, by Ysolda Teague. Her patterns are very popular and I must say I usually like them, though I don’t particularly love knitting them… I really don’t know why!

My mum knitted the first 3 panels before Xmas, but then realized she had messed up somehow the stitches counting and the shawl was looking uneven and wonky, so she put it by side.

I decided to pick it up again as I came here to visit and give it another try πŸ™‚ I frogged all the lace pattern and started all over. I must admit that it took me a whole day to get a hang of it, but I finally finished the first 2 panels by the evening! lol The pattern is not that difficult, but you need to be constantly concentrated or you’ll easily mess up… not what I would call a relaxing knitting project, but I am determined to finish it nevertheless!

This is how it looks so far πŸ™‚
Ishbel - WIP

Ishbel - WIP

Ishbel - WIP

And here is the usual link to the pattern on Ravelry

I also got as a present from my mum a skein of KAUNI wool, more or less in this colourway (pic from internet). It goes from brown, to caramel, to pink and purples… it’s super cool! I have in mind to knit another Ishbel for me out of it if I ever manage to finish this one!

One thought on “Ishbel – WIP

  1. Pingback: New Ishbel – WIP « Craftykitty's Blog

Leave a Reply

