Crocheted Blue Hat – First attempt!

I have finally finished my first attempt at crocheting a hat for myself!

I was surfing the net a bit looking for possible easy patterns and I ended up finding this: Be-ribboned Lavender hat and liking it very much.
I soon realized I was using a smaller hook and probably the wrong kind of yarn for it (I still haven’t figured how to pick the right ones – both hook and yarn – but I am on a trip right now and I didn’t have much choice at the store, with the 4,5 mm hook being the biggest they had), so following the pattern wasn’t working as expected. I was almost finished with it, just to realize my hat wouldn’t cover even half of my head.
So basically… I had to invent!
I came up my own pattern, if you can call it so, which is a mixture of the original one, mistakes and stitches I learnt on the way through it!

Copyright belongs to the original pattern creator (see link above), I’m just reporting my changes for personal future references. You are more than welcome to follow my version, but please credit the original maker if posting anywhere! Thanks!

First attempt at crocheting a hat

Material: blue 100% wool yarn. I used one and a little bit of a second one, for a total of about 60 g. 4.5 mm hook.

Notes: Hat is crocheted in the round. The top part of the hat is crocheted by placing hook in between posts of stitches in previous row, rather than in the top loop. Some rows call for turning at the end of the row, otherwise, crochet in one direction. ALWAYS SLIP STITCH TO FINISH A ROUND.

Pattern:
Start with a 3 chains loop and slip stich in the fist sticht to close.

1. 12 dc. Slip stitch on top of first stitch to close; do this at the end of every row.
2. 2dc in each space between dc. (24 stitches)
3. *2dc in first space, dc in next space; repeat from* around. (36 stitches)
4. *2dc in first space, dc in each of next 2 spaces; repeat from * around. (48 stitches)
5. *2dc in first space, dc in each of next 3 spaces; repeat from * around. (60 stitches)
6. *2dc in first space, dc in each of next 4 spaces; repeat from * around. (72 stitches)
7. *2dc in first space, dc in each of next 5 spaces; repeat from * around. (84 stitches)

End top disc; start textured stitch pattern (1)

1. **1sc in first stitch (in the loop, not in the space between stitches), skip 2 stitches, 5dc in same stitch, skip 2 stitches**; repeat from ** for the whole round.

Now turn so that wrong side is facing.

2. **5dc in same stitch (your 1sc of the previous round), 1sc in the loop of the 3rd dc of your previous round**; repeat from ** for the whole round.

Turn again so the right side is facing.

3. 1dc in each stitch for 3 rounds.

4. **1sc in first stitch (in the loop, not in the space between stitches), skip 2 stitches, 5dc in same stitch, skip 2 stitches**; repeat from ** for the whole round.

1dc in each stitch for 1 round.

Start textured stitch pattern (2)

1. Turn work, so that wrong side is facing. ***(sc, 2dc) in first stitch, skip next 2 stitches; repeat from *** all the way around, ending with slip stitch in first sc.
2. Turn work, so that right side is facing. Dc in each stitch around. Slip stitch to close.

Repeat these two rows 4 times.

Finish off your hat with the following pattern:

1. 1hdc in every stitch for 1 round

2. **1sc in first stitch (in the loop, not in the space between stitches), skip 2 stitches, 5dc in same stitch, skip 2 stitches**; repeat from ** for the whole round.

Slip stitch to close and weave loose ends.

DONE!

ps: it’s my first time at writing a pattern in english, so please let me know if you find any mistakes or if some parts are unclear!

Leave a Reply

